Baby Talk 6/10/2017

More Baby Talk?! Well, we are in the third trimester…..

So, my wife and I put together our Baby Registry with Amazon and set out the links to all of our friends and family with social media! I guess one of the nice things about having a registry with Amazon is that you have a wider range of available items to choose from! In addition to that, Amazon’s Baby Registry service has perks! I mean free stuff when you use their registry!

More back onto my point, my wife started to experience pain when she stood up and “cramping” when she walked around. I ask if she wanted me to call the nurse’s hotline at 10:30 PM. She said yes. I called and the conclusion was that the ligaments were starting to stretch around the stomach. The nurse even called the midwife on duty to verify that there was nothing to be concern about. We were assured that nothing was a concern and that my wife should look into a maternity belt to help support the belly. The midwife said that this was normal for a second pregnancy. Because I had to work the next day, I decided to go to Walmart at 11:30 PM to get said maternity belt.

I walked around Walmart for about half an hour before I came to the conclusion that Walmart did not carry maternity belts. I decided to go in the morning to the mall and check out one of those maternity shops.

I got up the next morning and did a quick search on my phone to see what all stores would carry maternity belts. I’m under the impression that specialty stores in the mall command a premium for their items/services. On my search, Babies R Us popped up. Why didn’t I think of that?! I went there and selected one of the three they had available. I paid $35 bucks…. I feel ripped off. The style I selected for my wife was more like this, with the bottom and top. You see the difference in price?! How much would I have saved if I had bought this one?

Moral of the story, be prepared. The midwife said this is more common (the needing support) in the second pregnancy. My wife needed immediate support, so I had to act fast with my purchase. More than likely, I’m going to order a more appropriate maternity belt via Amazon Prime and return the belt purchased from Babies R Us.

Feel free to leave a comment!

Leave a comment